العلاج الطبيعي لمرضى السكتة الدماغية – دليل كامل

العلاج الطبيعي لمرضى السكتة الدماغية – دليل كامل

العلاج الطبيعي للسكتة الدماغية ، أو العلاج الطبيعي لمرضى السكتة الدماغية ، هو مصطلح يستخدم في كثير من الأحيان. قبل أن ننتقل إلى العلاج الطبيعي للسكتة الدماغية ، دعونا نلقي نظرة على مصطلح “السكتة الدماغية” وتأثيراتها. عندما يتعطل تدفق الدم إلى خلايا الدماغ أو يتوقف ، يتلقى الدماغ كمية أقل من الأكسجين. يُعرف هذا باسم “الاعتداء على الدماغ” أو “السكتة الدماغية”. يتم فقدان التحكم في العضلات والكلام وحركة الأطراف والأنشطة الأخرى التي تقوم بها منطقة الدماغ التالفة نتيجة لاضطراب تدفق الدم.

ينتج عن هذا مجموعة كبيرة من الأعراض ، بما في ذلك:

  • حالة شلل (عادة في الجانب المصاب من الجسم)
  • خدر في الساقين والذراعين (اليدين والقدمين والذراعين أو الساقين)
  • دوخة
  • مشاكل في التنفس
  • فقدان التنسيق والتوازن
  • تعاني من الارتباك أو فقدان الوعي
  • صداع حاد ومفاجئ
  • من الصعب التحدث وإغلاق الفم تمامًا
  • صعوبة في البلع أو الشرب

تعطل السكتة الدماغية الوصلات الأساسية بين الدماغ والعضلات ، وهذا هو السبب في أنها السبب الرئيسي للضعف طويل الأمد وتؤدي بشكل شبه دائم إلى فقدان بعض التوازن والحركة. ومع ذلك ، فإن هذه الخسارة ليست دائمًا لا رجعة فيها.

في الواقع ، خلال المراحل المبكرة من الشفاء ، عندما يكون لدى المرضى القليل من السيطرة على عضلاتهم المصابة ، فإن إعادة التأهيل مهمة للغاية ، وهو أمر ممكن من خلال العلاج الطبيعي لسكتة الدماغ. بينما يهدف العلاج الطبيعي الفوري إلى إزالة الانسداد أو وقف النزيف ، هناك حاجة إلى رعاية طويلة الأمد لتجنب العواقب وتحسينها.

اقرأ أيضًا: فوائد العلاج الطبيعي في المنزل

تصنيفات السكتة الدماغية

يمكن تقسيم السكتات الدماغية إلى فئتين:

أكثر أشكال السكتة الدماغية شيوعًا هي السكتة الدماغية ، والتي تحدث بسبب انسداد أحد الأوعية الدموية ، مما يحرم أنسجة المخ من الأكسجين والمواد المغذية.

تحدث السكتة الدماغية النزفية عندما يتمزق أحد الأوعية الدموية ، مما يتسبب في تسرب الدم إلى أنسجة المخ. اعتمادًا على مكان ومقدار تلف الدماغ ، يمكن أن يؤدي كلا الشكلين من السكتة الدماغية إلى ضعف كبير. ومع ذلك ، فإن إعادة التأهيل متعدد التخصصات والعلاج الطبيعي المكثف يمكن أن يساعد في علاج الأعراض الناتجة عن كلا الشكلين من السكتة الدماغية.

تشخيص السكتة الدماغية

السكتة الدماغية هي حالة طارئة سريرية يتم تحديدها من قبل الطاقم الطبي بعد التقييم العصبي في بيئة المستشفى. سيتم إجراء فحص التصوير المقطعي المحوسب (CT) في أقرب وقت ممكن بعد الدخول إلى المستشفى لتحديد ما إذا كانت السكتة الدماغية إقفارية أم نزفية. يتم استخدام هذه البيانات لتوجيه قرارات العلاج العاجلة.

بمجرد تحديد السكتة الدماغية ، يمكن إجراء التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI) وفحص الموجات فوق الصوتية دوبلر للأوعية الدموية للبحث عن الجلطات والانقباض. بعد دخول المستشفى ، يوصي الأطباء بالعلاج الطبيعي لمرضى السكتة الدماغية حتى يتعافوا ويعودوا إلى الحياة الطبيعية.

إعادة تأهيل مرضى السكتة الدماغية

الهدف من علاج السكتة الدماغية هو تقليل عوامل الخطر ومنع حدوث المزيد من السكتات الدماغية. من الأهمية بمكان أن يحصل العميل على علاج شامل للسكتة الدماغية من فريق متعدد التخصصات في منشأة متخصصة للسكتة الدماغية.

سيتعاون الممرضون وأخصائيي العلاج الطبيعي والمعالجون المهنيون وأخصائيي النطق واللغة وعلماء النفس مع الخبراء الطبيين لتوفير رعاية متخصصة شاملة على مدار 24 ساعة.

بعد الخروج من المستشفى ، سيحتاج الفرد إلى التعافي المستمر لإعادة الاستقرار والتكيف مع التيار الرئيسي. وهذا يتطلب رعاية مناسبة وعلاجًا طبيعيًا للسكتة الدماغية للتعافي بمعدل أسرع.

يعتبر اكتئاب ما بعد السكتة الدماغية أيضًا مشكلة رئيسية لدى مرضى السكتة الدماغية ويجب معالجته من خلال الاستشارة والأدوية المناسبة إذا لزم الأمر.

اقرأ أيضًا: أهمية رعاية المسنين في المنزل

الاختصار F.A.S.T. طريقة مفيدة لتذكر مؤشرات السكتة الدماغية:

  • F (الوجه) – اطلب من الشخص أن يحاول الابتسامة. يتم تشخيص السكتة الدماغية عندما لا يتحرك أحد جانبي الوجه مثل الجانب الآخر.
  • أ (اليدين) – اجعل الفرد يمد ذراعيه بقدر ما يستطيع. انظر لترى ما إذا كان أحد الذراعين يتحرك أعلى من الآخر.
  • S (الكلام) – قل عبارة يمكن للشخص أن يكررها. ابحث عن أي كلمات تم تعثرها.
  • T (الوقت) – إذا اكتشفت أيًا من علامات التحذير من السكتة الدماغية هذه ، فاتصل برقم 999 على الفور للتأكد من حصول الشخص الذي تحبه على المساعدة التي يحتاجها.

من الممكن الحفاظ على حياة المصاب بالسكتة الدماغية إذا اتخذ أحد الأشخاص الموجودين في الغرفة وقت الإصابة بالسكتة الدماغية إجراءات بناءً على هذه المؤشرات.

أفضل خيارات علاج مرضى السكتة الدماغية في المنزل

يجب على مرضى السكتة الدماغية مواصلة برنامج التمريض المنزلي لإعادة التأهيل في المنزل بعد خروجهم من العلاج في العيادة الخارجية. لكي يصلح الدماغ نفسه ، فإنه يتطلب تحفيزًا منتظمًا.

ستتعرف على أفضل خمسة بدائل لإعادة التأهيل بعد السكتة الدماغية يمكنك القيام بها في المنزل. تعتمد هذه التقنيات على الحركة والتنقل.

1. أدوات إعادة التأهيل في المنزل

يمكن أن تساعدك أدوات إعادة التأهيل في المنزل على الحفاظ على دوافعك أثناء التعافي من السكتة الدماغية في المنزل ، خاصة إذا كنت قد سئمت اتباع ملاءات التمارين المطبوعة. استفسر من المعالجين عن أي استراتيجيات علاجية يوصون بها. يشجع المستخدمين على القيام بعدد كبير من التكرار لتمارين إعادة التأهيل النموذجية ، والتي تساعد في التعافي.

2. تمارين العلاج الطبيعي للسكتة الدماغية على أساس يومي

بينما يركز النشاط البدني المنتظم على تحسين قوة عضلاتك ، فإن تمارين العلاج الطبيعي للسكتة الدماغية تشغل عقلك ، مما يسمح له بإرسال نبضات مرتبطة بالحركة إلى عضلاتك. الهدف من إعادة التأهيل هو تنشيط المرونة العصبية ، قدرة الدماغ على إعادة تنظيم نفسه وتعلم قدرات جديدة.

عندما تؤثر السكتة الدماغية على جزء من الدماغ ، تولد المرونة العصبية طرقًا جديدة لأجزاء الدماغ السليمة. يمكنك إعطاء الدماغ التحفيز الذي يحتاجه لإعادة تشكيل نفسه وزيادة الوظيفة عن طريق القيام بأنشطة إعادة التأهيل في المنزل بشكل منتظم ويومي.

تقوية العضلات هي أيضًا هدف أثناء التعافي من السكتة الدماغية للمساعدة في منع ضمور العضلات الناجم عن قلة الاستخدام. العلاج الطبيعي لإعادة التأهيل بعد السكتة الدماغية هو الشكل الأكثر شيوعًا وانتشارًا للعلاج الفعال بعد السكتة الدماغية.

3. CIMT لشد الذراع ، الذراع أو الساق

العلاج الحركي الناجم عن القيد (CIMT) لشلل الذراع أو الساق هو نوع صعب من العلاج الطبيعي الذي يمكن أن يساعد الناجين من السكتة الدماغية الذين يعانون من شلل نصفي أو شلل نصفي (ضعف أو شلل في الجانب المصاب). وهو يعمل عن طريق الحد من حركة الجانب السليم مع إجبار الجانب المصاب على الاستعانة به.

يمكن أن يكون CIMT تحديًا. في معظم الأحيان ، تبدأ خطة العلاج في إعادة التأهيل وتستمر في المنزل.

4. استعادة اليدين من خلال العلاج بالمرآة

العلاج بالمرآة هو أحد الطرق لتحفيز التواصل من اليد إلى الدماغ ، وهو مفيد بشكل خاص لأولئك الذين يعانون من شلل اليد أو حركة اليد المحدودة للغاية.

في هذا النوع من العلاج للناجين من السكتة الدماغية ، يتم استخدام مرآة منضدية لتغطية الذراع التالفة بانعكاس الذراع الوظيفية. ثم ، أثناء التحديق في المرآة ، تقوم بإجراء تمارين إعادة تأهيل اليد على الطاولة.

حتى لو كنت تعلم أنك تحرك يدا واحدة فقط ، يتم خداع الدماغ للاعتقاد بأنك تحرك كلاهما. هذا يساعد في تنشيط المرونة العصبية والتحسين التدريجي للحركة في اليد التالفة.

5. تمارين تخفيف الشلل الذهني

الممارسة العقلية هي عملية ممارسة نشاط عقليًا قبل القيام به فعليًا. يستخدم الرياضيون المحترفون التدريب العقلي لتحسين قدراتهم ، ويمكن للمرضى المسنين تلقي الدعم منه أيضًا. الممارسة العقلية مفيدة بشكل خاص للأشخاص المشلولين وغير القادرين على الحركة دون مساعدة. يسمح للدماغ بإعادة تنظيم نفسه دون الحاجة إلى الحركة.

اقرأ أيضًا: تمارين العلاج الطبيعي لآلام أسفل الظهر

تأهيل فعال مع العلاج الطبيعي للسكتة الدماغية

يعد اتباع نظام غذائي صحي ووقف السلوكيات الضارة بالصحة مثل التدخين والإفراط في تناول الكحوليات من بين الخطوات الأولى في رعاية ما بعد الطوارئ. تساعد التمارين أيضًا في الوقاية من مجموعة متنوعة من مشاكل السكتة الدماغية وإدارتها. بسبب فقدان الوظيفة العضلية (بسبب تلف الدماغ) وفقدان التوازن وضعف العضلات الناتج ، قد يكون التدريب بعد السكتة الدماغية صعبًا. كثيرًا ما يُحال أخصائيو العلاج الطبيعي إلى مرضى السكتة الدماغية في هذه المرحلة.

على الرغم من أن الدماغ لا يستطيع إعادة بناء الخلايا المفقودة بعد السكتة الدماغية ، إلا أن العلاج الطبيعي للسكتة الدماغية يمكن أن يساعد الدماغ في تنظيم الخلايا المتبقية بشكل أفضل لمواجهة الخسارة (المرونة العصبية). وهذا يتطلب استراتيجية إعادة تأهيل جسدي شاملة تشمل:

  • التمارين
  • التدليك
  • تطوير قدرات جديدة
  • المعالجة بالكهرباء
  • بمعالجة

يقرر الطبيب والمعالج مقدار الوقت الذي يقضيه الشخص وأخصائي العلاج الطبيعي في كل جانب من جوانب خطة العلاج. سوف يتوصلون إلى استراتيجية لمساعدة المريض في تحقيق أهداف جديدة مع الحفاظ على الانتظام في بيئة آمنة ومنظمة.

ما الذي يهدف العلاج الطبيعي بعد السكتة الدماغية إلى تحقيقه؟

تؤدي السكتات الدماغية في كثير من الأحيان إلى تنميل في جانب واحد من الجسم ، مما يؤدي إلى فقدان المريض لوظائفه في ذراعه ورجله. يعمل أخصائيو العلاج الطبيعي مع مرضى السكتة الدماغية في الأسابيع والأشهر الأولى من إعادة التأهيل للحفاظ على هذه العضلات متناغمة ومشغولة حتى قبل استعادة حركتها الطوعية.

تساعد إدارة العلاج الطبيعي للسكتة الدماغية المرضى على إعادة تعلم القدرات اليومية وتدريب خلايا الدماغ السليمة على تنظيم أجزاء الجسم المصابة إذا وعندما تعود الوظيفة. هذه إحدى خدمات التعافي من السكتة الدماغية المتاحة ، والتي تشمل أيضًا العلاج الطبيعي والمهني والتمريض التأهيلي وعلاج النطق.

اقرأ أيضًا: العلاج الطبيعي للصدر

فوائد العلاج الطبيعي بعد السكتة الدماغية

يمكن لاختصاصي العلاج الطبيعي مساعدتك بالطرق التالية:

  1. بسبب أي آثار سلبية متبقية ، ستحتاج إلى تعلم طرق جديدة للحركة.
  2. استعادة القوة البدنية والقدرة على الحركة.
  3. تقليل تصلب العضلات والتأكد من توزيع العضلات والأعصاب التالفة بشكل جيد.
  4. استعد السيطرة على حركاتك وأفعالك.
  5. الحصول على أكبر قدر ممكن من الوظائف والاستقلالية.
  6. وقف فقدان كتلة العضلات.
  7. التعافي بشكل أكثر فعالية وسرعة.
  8. التعافي من آثار إصابات الدماغ وضمور العضلات.
  9. ينشط الأعصاب والعضلات المصابة.

آثار السكتة الدماغية على كبار السن

يمكن أن يكون للسكتة الدماغية عند كبار السن عواقب تقدمية ، لكن هذا يختلف باختلاف الفرد. أحد أهم الأشياء بالنسبة لكبار السن في سنواتهم الأكبر ، كما هو الحال مع أي مريض سكتة دماغية ، هو أنهم محاطون بالدعم المناسب ولديهم إمكانية الوصول إلى أشكال العلاج الصحيحة.

عندما يتعلق الأمر بتحديد الدرجة المناسبة من الدعم لمن تحب ، فإن للعائلة خيارات مختلفة. من بين الاحتمالات:

  • يتم تضمين العلاج الطبيعي لسكتة الدماغ في إعادة التأهيل في الرعاية المنزلية.
  • إعادة التأهيل في دار لرعاية المسنين
  • إعادة التأهيل في بيئة طبية

ما هي أفضل طريقة لتحديد مكان معالج فيزيائي؟

  • استيفاء متطلبات الترخيص أو الشهادة في بلدك.
  • معالج فيزيائي مؤهل
  • تقييم التطور الخاص بك على أساس منتظم.
  • يجتمع معك على أساس منتظم لتقييم تقدمك.
  • يتفهم أعراض ما بعد السكتة الدماغية والضعف الذي تعاني منه.
  • سيدفعك للوصول إلى حدودك المادية الحالية من خلال تحديد الأهداف الصحيحة لك ، مع مراعاة طموحاتك وقيودك (ولكن لا تحاول تجاوزها).
  • قم بدعم وتثقيف أقاربك ومقدمي الرعاية الآخرين بشكل منتظم.
  • إذا لزم الأمر ، يكرسون اهتمامهم الكامل لك طوال فترة العلاج ، ويقدمون رعاية مباشرة فردية وإشرافًا منتظمًا لتجنب الحوادث المؤسفة.
  • متخصص في مجال العلاج الطبيعي المناسب.
  • يشارك في برنامج يركز على المريض.

اقرأ أيضًا: كيفية اختيار خدمة الرعاية الصحية المنزلية المناسبة

خدمات العلاج الطبيعي في المنزل الخبير من Lana Life Care ، دبي

يعالج اختصاصيو العلاج الطبيعي العصبي في Lana Life Care كل من الشلل الدماغي وأمراض ما بعد السكتة الدماغية ومرض باركنسون والتصلب المتعدد وإصابات العمود الفقري. يتوفر لمرضانا العلاج العملي وتوصيات التمارين الفردية وبرامج التمارين المنزلية ، بالإضافة إلى الأساليب.

العلاج الطبيعي لكبار السن

مع تقدمنا في السن ، يتباطأ التمثيل الغذائي البيولوجي لدينا ، ويمكن أن تسبب الاضطرابات الكامنة المختلفة انزعاجًا كبيرًا. يمكن أن يساعد العلاج الطبيعي لرعاية المسنين ، المعروف أيضًا باسم العلاج الطبيعي للمسنين ، في الحفاظ على صحتنا مع تقدمنا في العمر. في العلاج الطبيعي لكبار السن ، يتم علاج مجموعة كبيرة من المشكلات.

يمكن لأخصائيي العلاج الطبيعي مساعدة كبار السن في أن يصبحوا أكثر راحة وخالية من الألم. يمكنهم تثقيف كبار السن بحركات جسدية جديدة وإشراكهم في الأنشطة التي ستساعدهم على الشفاء الجسدي والعقلي.

يعد العلاج الطبيعي بعد إعادة التأهيل بعد السكتة الدماغية والسكتة الدماغية جزءًا مهمًا من طريق العودة الطويل إلى الحياة “الطبيعية”. يفترض

يتبع المرء إرشادات العلاج الطبيعي للسكتة الدماغية عن طريق اختيار مقدم الرعاية الصحية المنزلية وتحديد الأهداف ، وهي قرارات ليست سهلة لاتخاذها. تأكد من التعبير عن متطلباتك ومشاعرك حتى تتمكن من اختيار المرفق والبرنامج المناسب لك. يمكن أن يستغرق التعافي وقتًا طويلاً ، ولكن وجود الأشخاص المناسبين في “فريقك” ، مثل Lana Life Care ، سيساعدك بشكل تعاطفي.

أسئلة وأجوبة

كيف يتم العلاج الطبيعي لمرضى السكتة الدماغية؟

يجب أن يتم العلاج الطبيعي لمرضى السكتة الدماغية من قبل خبراء وبأقصى قدر من العناية. هناك العديد من تمارين العلاج الطبيعي لمرضى السكتة الدماغية.

ما هي العلاقة بين السكتة الدماغية والعلاج الطبيعي؟

يبدأ أخصائيو العلاج الطبيعي العلاج في جلسات قصيرة ومتكررة بعد 24 ساعة من السكتة الدماغية ، مع التركيز على النهوض من السرير والجلوس والوقوف والحركة.

هل العلاج الطبيعي لمرضى السكتة الدماغية ضروري؟

نعم ، هناك حاجة لأن الهدف من العلاج الطبيعي بعد السكتة الدماغية هو مساعدة الأفراد على استعادة أكبر قدر ممكن من القوة والمرونة من خلال تعليمهم استخدام جانبي أجسامهم مرة أخرى.

ما هي السكتة الدماغية؟

عندما ينشق أحد الأوعية الدموية في الدماغ وينزف ، أو عندما يتوقف تدفق الدم إلى الدماغ ، تحدث سكتة دماغية.

ما هي الحاجة للعلاج الطبيعي بعد السكتة الدماغية؟

يمكن أن يؤدي العلاج الطبيعي إلى تحسين نوعية حياة الناجين من السكتات الدماغية بشكل ملحوظ. يمكن تسريع العلاج وإعادة التأهيل باستخدام أفضل إجراءات العلاج الطبيعي.

Physiotherapy for Stroke Patients – A Complete Guide

Stroke physiotherapy, or physiotherapy for stroke patients, is a term that is used very often. Before we jump into stroke physiotherapy, let us look into the term “stroke” and its effects. When the blood flow to brain cells is disturbed or terminated, the brain receives less oxygen. This is known as a “brain assault” or “stroke.” Muscle control, speech, limb movement, and other activities performed by the damaged brain region are lost as a result of the disturbed blood flow.

This results in a slew of symptoms, including:

  • in a state of paralysis (usually on the affected side of the body).
  • Numbness in the legs and arms (hands, feet, arms, or legs)
  • Dizziness
  • Breathing problems
  • Loss of coordination and balance
  • Experience disorientation or fall unconscious.
  • A severe and sudden headache 
  • Speaking and fully shutting the mouth are difficult.
  • Difficulty in swallowing or drinking 

A stroke disrupts essential brain-muscle connections, which is why it is the primary cause of long-term impairment and nearly invariably results in some loss of balance and movement. This loss, however, isn’t always irreversible.

In fact, during the early phases of healing, when patients have little to no command over their afflicted muscles, rehabilitation is very important, which is possible through brain stroke physiotherapy. While immediate physiotherapy aims to clear the blockage or halt the bleeding, long-term care is needed to avoid and improve consequences.

ALSO READ: Benefits of Physiotherapy Treatment at Home

Stroke Classifications

Strokes can be divided into two categories:

The most frequent form of stroke is an ischemic stroke, which is caused by a clog in one of the blood vessels, depriving the brain tissue of oxygen and nutrients.

A hemorrhagic stroke occurs when a blood vessel ruptures, causing blood to seep into the brain tissue. Depending on the location and amount of brain damage, both forms of stroke can result in considerable impairment. However, multidisciplinary rehabilitation and intense physiotherapy can help with the symptoms produced by both forms of stroke.

Stroke Diagnoses

A stroke is a clinical emergency that will be identified by medical personnel after a neurological evaluation in a hospital environment. A computed tomography (CT) scan will be performed as soon as possible following admission to the hospital to determine if the stroke is ischemic or hemorrhagic. This data is used to guide urgent treatment decisions.

Once a stroke has been identified, a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and Doppler ultrasound examination of the blood vessels to look for clots and constriction may be performed. After hospitalisation, doctors recommend physiotherapy to stroke patients in order for them to recover and return to normalcy.

Stroke Rehabilitation

The goal of medical stroke treatment is to reduce risk factors and prevent additional strokes. It is critical that the client get comprehensive stroke therapy from an interdisciplinary team in a specialised stroke facility.

Nurses, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, speech and language therapists, and psychologists will collaborate with medical experts to provide comprehensive 24-hour specialist care.

Following discharge from the hospital, the individual will require ongoing recovery to re-settle and adapt to the mainstream. This requires proper care and stroke physiotherapy to recuperate at a faster rate.

Post-stroke depression is also a major issue in stroke patients and has to be treated through proper counselling and medications if needed.

ALSO READ: The Importance of Elderly Care at Home

The abbreviation F.A.S.T. is a useful method to remember the indicators of a stroke:

  • F (Face) – Ask the person to make an attempt at a grin. A stroke is diagnosed when one side of the face does not move as well as the other.
  • A (Arms) – Have the individual extend both arms as far as they can. Look to see whether one of their arms moves higher than the other.
  • S (Speech) – Make a phrase that the person can repeat. Look for any words that have been slurred.
  • T (Time) – If you detect any of these stroke warning signs, call 911 right away to make sure your senior loved one gets the help they need.

It is possible to preserve the life of a stroke sufferer if someone present in the room at the moment of the stroke takes action based on such indicators.

Stroke Patients’ Best Treatment Options at Home

Stroke patients must continue a robust rehabilitation home nursing program at home after being discharged from outpatient treatment. In order for the brain to repair itself, it requires regular stimulation.

You’ll learn about the top five stroke rehabilitation alternatives that you can perform at home. These techniques are based on movement and mobility.

1. Rehab Tools at Home

Home rehabilitation tools can help you keep motivated while recovering from a stroke at home, particularly if you’ve grown weary of following printed exercise sheets. Inquire with your therapists about any healing strategies they recommend. It encourages users to do a large number of repetitions of typical rehab exercises, which aids in recuperation.

2. Stroke Physiotherapy Exercises on a Daily Basis

While regular physical activity concentrates on improving your muscle strength, stroke physiotherapy exercises engage your brain, allowing it to send movement-related impulses to your muscles. The goal of rehabilitation is to activate neuroplasticity, the brain’s ability to reorganise itself and learn new abilities.

When a stroke affects a portion of the brain, neuroplasticity generates new routes to healthy sections of the brain. You may give the brain the stimulus it needs to remodel itself and increase function by doing rehab activities at home on a regular and daily basis.

Muscular strengthening is also an objective during stroke recovery to help prevent muscle atrophy caused by lack of use. Stroke rehabilitation physiotherapy is the most common and widespread form of effective treatment post-stroke. 

3. CIMT for Arm or Leg Paralysis

Constraint-induced movement therapy (CIMT) for Arm or Leg Paralysis Constraint-induced movement therapy (CIMT) is a challenging kind of physical therapy that can help stroke survivors with hemiparesis or hemiplegia (weakness or paralysis on the affected side). It works by limiting the mobility of the unaffected side while forcing the use of the afflicted side.

CIMT can be challenging. The majority of the time, it is a treatment plan that begins in rehab and continues at home.

4. Hand Recovery Through Mirror Therapy

Mirror therapy is one way to trigger hand-to-brain communication, which is especially useful for those who have hand paralysis or very limited hand mobility.

In this type of treatment for stroke survivors, a tabletop mirror is used to cover the damaged arm with the reflection of the functional arm. Then, while staring in the mirror, you conduct tabletop hand rehabilitation exercises.

Even if you know you’re just moving one hand, the brain is tricked into believing you’re moving both. This aids in the activation of neuroplasticity and the gradual improvement of movement in the damaged hand.

5. Paralysis-Relieving Mental Exercises

Mental practice is the process of mentally practising an activity before actually doing it. Professional athletes use mental training to improve their abilities, and elderly patients can receive support from it as well. Mental practice is particularly beneficial for people who are paralysed and unable to move without assistance. It allows the brain to reorganise itself without the need for movement.

ALSO READ: Physiotherapy Exercises For Lower Back Pain

Effective Rehab With Physiotherapy for Stroke

A healthy diet and stopping health-harming behaviours like smoking and excessive drinking are among the first steps in post-emergency care. Exercise also aids in the prevention and management of a variety of stroke problems. Because of the loss of muscular function (due to brain damage), loss of balance, and resultant muscle weakness, training after a stroke can be difficult. Physiotherapists are frequently referred to stroke patients at this point.

Although the brain cannot rebuild cells lost following a stroke, physiotherapy for stroke can assist the brain in better organising remaining cells to cope with the loss (neuroplasticity). This necessitates a comprehensive physical rehabilitation strategy that includes:

  • Exercise
  • Massage
  • Developing new abilities
  • Treatment using electricity
  • Manipulation

The doctor and therapist decide how much time a person and their physiotherapist spend on each aspect of the treatment plan. They’ll come up with a strategy to assist the patient in achieving new goals while maintaining regularity in a safe and regulated setting.

What Does Post-Stroke Physiotherapy Aim to Achieve?

Strokes frequently result in numbness on one side of the body, causing patients to lose function in one arm and leg. Physiotherapists work with stroke patients in the early weeks and months of rehabilitation to keep these muscles toned and engaged even before they restore voluntary mobility.

Stroke physiotherapy management helps patients to relearn everyday abilities and train their healthy brain cells to regulate the injured body parts if and when a function returns. This is one of the stroke recovery services available, which also include physical and occupational therapy, rehabilitative nursing, and speech therapy.

ALSO READ: Chest Physiotherapy

The Benefits of Physiotherapy Following a Stroke

A physical therapist can assist you in the following ways:

  1. Due to any residual adverse effects, you’ll need to learn new methods for moving.
  2. Regain physical strength and mobility.
  3. Reduce muscular stiffness and ensure that damaged muscles and nerves are well circulated.
  4. Regain control of your motions and actions.
  5. Obtain the greatest amount of functionality and independence possible.
  6. Stop the loss of muscle mass.
  7. Recover more effectively and quickly.
  8. Recover from the effects of brain injury and muscular atrophy.
  9. Stimulates nerves and muscles that have been injured.

Stroke Effects on the Elderly

Stroke in the elderly can have progressive consequences, but this varies depending on the individual. One of the most crucial things for seniors in their older years, like with any stroke patient, is that they are surrounded by the correct support and have access to the right forms of treatment.

When it comes to determining the appropriate degree of support for a beloved one, a family has various options. Among the possibilities are:

  • Physiotherapy for brain stroke is included in homecare rehab.
  • Rehabilitation at a nursing home
  • Rehabilitation in a medical environment

What Is the Best Way to Locate a Physical Therapist?

  • Meets the requirements for a licence or certification in your country.
  • A qualified physical therapist
  • Assess your development on a regular basis.
  • Meets with you on a regular basis to assess your progress.
  • Understands your post-stroke symptoms and impairments.
  • Will push you to reach your existing physical limits by setting the correct goals for you, taking into consideration your ambitions and limitations (but not attempting to push past them).
  • Support and educate your relatives and other caregivers on a regular basis.
  • If required, they devote their complete attention to you throughout therapy, providing direct, one-on-one care and regular supervision to avoid mishaps.
  • Specialises in the appropriate physical treatment field.
  • Engages in a patient-centred programme.

ALSO READ: How to choose the right home health care service

Expert Home Physiotherapy Services By Lana Life Care, Dubai

Cerebral palsy, post-stroke diseases, Parkinson’s disease, multiple sclerosis, and spinal injuries are all treated by Lana Life Care’s neuro physiotherapy specialists. Hands-on therapy, individualised exercise recommendations, and home exercise programmes, as well as modalities, are all available to our patients.

Physiotherapy for the Elderly

As we become older, our biological metabolism slows down, and various underlying disorders can cause considerable discomfort. Geriatric care physiotherapy, also known as elder physiotherapy, can help us maintain our health as we age. In geriatric physiotherapy for the aged, a wide range of issues are treated.

Physiotherapists can assist older people in becoming more comfortable and pain-free. They can educate the elderly with new body movements and engage them in activities that will help them heal both physically and mentally.

Physiotherapy after stroke and stroke rehabilitation are important parts of the lengthy road back to a “normal” life. Suppose

One follows the stroke physiotherapy guidelines by choosing the home healthcare provider and establishing the aims, which are not easy decisions to make. Make sure to express your requirements and feelings so that you may choose the facility and programme that is right for you. Recovery can take a long time, but having the proper people on your “team,” such as Lana Life Care, will assist empathetically.

FAQs

How to do physiotherapy for stroke patients?

Physiotherapy for stroke patients should be done by experts and with the utmost care. There are several physiotherapy exercises for stroke patients.

What is the connection between stroke and physiotherapy?

Physiotherapists begin therapy in short, frequent sessions 24 hours following a stroke, focusing on getting out of bed, sitting, standing, and moving.

Is physiotherapy for brain stroke patients needed?

Yes, it is needed because the goal of physiotherapy after a stroke is to help individuals restore as much strength and flexibility as possible by teaching them to utilise both sides of their bodies again.

What is a stroke?

Whenever a blood vessel in the brain fissures and bleeds, or when the blood supply to the brain is blocked off, a stroke ensues.

What is the need for physiotherapy after a stroke?

Physiotherapy can significantly improve a stroke survivor’s quality of life. Treatment and rehabilitation can be accelerated with the use of the best physiotherapy procedures.